45 – things that you might not know about me

Good evening loves! Yesterday was my birthday, and I thought I’d share a few things you didn’t know about me. Forty-five years old, gosh, I can’t believe time flies. I started my blog five years ago. Today 45 – things that you might not know about me. I am wearing Nadine Merabi dress, Dam trench coat, Bottega Shoes, Reike Nen Bag, David Yurman Bracelet. Shop the look below.

Here are some facts about me:

I’m Albanian and grew up in a village in the South of Albania called Kote. I am the oldest of five children and have a son that lives in Montreal doing his Masters.

Fashion has been a passion of mine since I was young, but I couldn’t express it freely only to my family. Growing up in a village it was hard for people to understand my passion for fashion.

Since my family was poor, I grew up with no TV and fashion magazines around me. Dressing up my younger sisters and asking them to do a runway show in a living room was our playtime. Everything was through my imagination and books I read.

My mom always has been my number one fan, and she still managed to buy me things I wanted even though she couldn’t afford it. Back then, because we were poor, people hated it that I had a good eye for fashion and never understood how much I loved fashion, but my mommy did. The reason why I love her even more, and I’ve tried my whole life to make it up to her!

My mom was my best friend and shared with me everything, from all her struggles to what she wanted to have. Because of it I always dreamed to leave Albania so that I could help my family financially.

My dad and I build a couch for our home from scratch at the age of 15 years. The biggest project that the whole village was talking about for months. Yes, I was very ambitious back then and being poor didn’t stop me from improvising.

I escaped Albania on a speed boat to Italy at the age of 18 years old. All I was thinking was if I survive, I will do anything to help my parents.

I lived in Germany for six years, and I gave birth to my son when I was 20 years old in a refugee camp. I moved to Canada 21 years ago.

My son is my biggest love. He is currently living in Montreal, doing his masters. He grew up without a father. His dad passed away a year after we arrived in Canada.

I studied Supply Chain management In Canada. After I graduated, I couldn’t land a job, so I worked as a waitress for six years.

After that, I had my 1st Interview with two people for an entry position in the corporate world. When the interviewer asked a question about my five-year plan, I told her I wanted her job. She was in disbelief of my answer, but other managers hired me on the spot. I changed a few positions after, and later I was in charge of the estimating department.

Because of the way I dressed my co-workers thought I was rich or dating a rich man, I wore Forver21 clothes and maybe a good Zara sale.

I bought my first condo when I worked as a waitress. I purchased the second I live in with my husband later.

Never liked vulgar or over the top fashion. Always been a “LESS IS MORE” type of girl. I started to wear makeup after I turned 30. Because of that, my makeup skills are very minimal. I adore French Style, and Audrey Hepburn has been my icon since I was young. I love wearing menswear, and I wear my husband suits regularly. Happy Canaday <3

Please follow and like us:
error0

Aurela Nasedkin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.